Before I left on vacation, I meant to write a few posts and have them auto-publish. I didn’t quite manage to make it happen. Then, I thought I would post something while I was gone. Um, no. I also packed hazelnuts and flour to make my cake for the Daring Bakers, which also didn’t happen. But, I had a day and a half in Atlanta before the posting deadline, and my roommate’s boyfriend had a birthday, so I was sure I could and would pull off the cake. Enter, the flu. Needless to say, I didn’t bake anything for my roommate’s boyfriend’s birthday. So, it has been a couple of weeks without a post, and a month without Daring Bakers, which is sad. I wish I could say that this delinquent behavior is behind me. But I have my oral exams for my PhD rapidly approaching, and as a result I have been having trouble sleeping, which means that I have had trouble functioning, which means that I’m looking at a very rough month and a half. So, I will try to get some posts up, but it might be more like once a week. Think good thoughts for me. I will need them.

So, where were we, I believe we had just finished the fish course of my five course Italian dinner. Next up, was a meat course, in this case, lamb. We bought a beautiful piece of lamb tenderloin from Star Provisions and cut it into pieces and then batted those pieces into thin strips. We then coated the lamb with a flavorful rub, threaded our skewers, and threw these on the grill. They were amazingly good, and also pretty easy once the lamb was batted (beaten into thin sheets).

spiedini di involtini di agnello e funghi (from Jamie’s Italy)

olive oil
1 1/2 lb. lamb, batted into 12 thin pieces (you can use leg of lamb, or a cutlet, or the tenderloin)
a large handful of fresh oregano or marjoram leaves, picked
1 clove of garlic, peeled
8 anchovy fillets
zest and juice of 1 lemon
salt and freshly ground black pepper
4 rosemary or bay sticks or 4 wooden skewers
8 medium-sized porcini, cepes, or field mushrooms, halved or quartered

1. Rub a clean surface with a little olive oil and lay your meat out in a line.
2. In a pestle and mortar, bash up your oregano. Add the garlic and anchovy fillets and bash to a paste. Add the lemon juice and twice as much olive oil. Mix and taste. It should be quite lemony. Season, then smear and rub the oil evenly over the pieces of meat and sprinkle lemon zest on top.
3. Preheat a grill (or oven to 400 degrees).
4. Roll each piece of meat up so that the rolls are about half the size of a cigar, but a little thicker.
5. If you are using bay or rosemary sticks, strip them of their leaves. Skewer a piece of rolled meat, followed by a piece of mushroom. Continue until you have three bits on each skewer. Grill for 3 1/2 minutes per side or roast in an oiled baking dish for 7 minutes. Serve drizzled with olive oil.

Serves 4

