My friend Marc and I never make plans. I think it is my fault as I’m stubbornly non-committal when it comes to those types of things. However, last weekend he went out of town, and this week we never actually both made it to the coffee shop at the same time (correction: I never made it to the coffee shop, I think that Marc made it more often than usual). So, Thursday afternoon we made plans. We were going to hang out on Saturday night, not only that, but we were going to do something. A flurry of emails transpired, yet somehow that something never quite crystallized. Bowling? Picnicking? Traipsing through the Botanical Gardens? Hitting up a bar? When Marc arrived at my door around 5 this evening we were no closer to a plan than we had been Thursday afternoon. So we cooked.

Marc took charge of dessert, throwing together an “easy” flan that from a distance looked anything but easy. Maureen, my roomate, whipped together some Guacamole, that was both tasty and healthy (only one avocado and no mayonnaise), while I pulled together some fish tacos and tried to make frozen margaritas, which Marc rescued. In less than half an hour we were all happily eating our Mexican inspired meal
while the flan baked in the oven. Everything was delicious and my desire to escape my apartment dissipated with the second margarita. After dinner, Marc and I pulled out some cards and I taught him my version of gin rummy. It was a fabulously relaxed and enjoyable evening, and it ended with both of us glad that we hadn’t been more ambitious with our plans.

Or at least, that is how we thought the evening had ended. Unfortunately, Marc and I did end up with a little adventure in our lives tonight. After I took him home, he managed to slice open his hand while cutting an apple, so we spent a lovely two hours in the ER.


Anyway, without further adieu, the recipes:

Fish Tacos (adapted from cooking light)

I made the fish for dinner the night before and used leftovers for the tacos. The quantities below are for the tacos alone, but I highly recommend doubling the recipe and doing Margarita marinated fillets one night and tacos the next.

Serves 3

For the fish:

3 (6-ounce) grouper fillets (or any firm white fish… I used Orange Roughy)
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
2 tablespoons chopped onion
1/2 tablespoon sugar
1/2 tablespoon finely chopped seeded serrano chile
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1/2 tablespoon tequila
1/2 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/2 garlic clove, chopped
Cooking spray
Chopped fresh chives (optional)
Lime wedges (optional)
1. Rinse the fillets and pat dry.

2. Sprinkle with salt.

3. Make marinade by pureeing salt, cilantro, onion, sugar, chile, lime juice, tequila, and vegetable oil in a blender or food processor.

4. Place the in a baking dish to marinate (or a plastic bag). Flip the fish over to coat evenly with marinade.

5. Refrigerate in the marinade for 30 minutes, turning once.

6. Spray a grill pan or a grill with cooking spray and cook over medium heat, about eight minutes per side until the fish easily flakes.

Tacos:

Tacos:
6 (6-inch) corn tortillas
cooked fish (cold or warm)
1/2 cup vertically sliced red onion
1 lime, quartered

Sauce:
2 tablespoons reduced-fat sour cream
2tablespoon minced fresh cilantro
2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
3/4 teaspoon red wine vinegar

1. Make the sauce, combining all of the sauce ingredients.

2. For soft tacos, microwave the tortilla shells for 45 seconds. For hard tacos, put some oil in a pan and cook one at a time untill the first side is crisp, flip and crisp the second side.

3. Divide fish between tacos, drizzle with sauce and sprinkle with red onions, lime, and extra cilantro.

