Flan is one of the few desserts I’ve never swooned over. It isn’t that I don’t like it, I just don’t love it, and most nights you only get to eat dessert once. Still, Marc’s version is dreamy, and I think by the time that I finish eating the leftovers I might just be ready to bake one myself.

Flan (lovingly taught to Marc by his mother)

4 eggs
1 tin sweetened condensed milk
1 tin evaporated milk
zest of half a lime
1/2 cup sugar
tbsp canola oil

Preheat oven to 350
1. In a mixing bowl, mix eggs, two milks, and lemon zest on high speed for a minute or until fully incorporated (don’t overmix)
2. In a small pot, cook sugar and oil over medium heat, stirring constantly until caramelized and medium brown (this step takes awhile, so be patient.)
3. Pour caramel out into brownie pan (8×8?) and jiggle pan until bottom coated
4. Add custard on top of caramel
5. Place pan in half-depth water bath and bake for one hour

