chicken curry

Today I just couldn’t seem to get moving. My allergies were killing me, even though the pollen count was its lowest in days. I think at this point the problem is the accumulated effect of two weeks of staggering amounts of pollen, two weeks might I add, in which I decided it would be a good idea to start running again. Well, my sinuses are paying me back for my foolishness. But, as I was lying on my couch watching a movie after a long day on campus, and daydreaming about dinner, this curry came to mind. It is one of the few dishes that I repeat on a fairly regular basis (you know, every couple of months or so), so that pretty much guarantees that it will be good. Some day I will have to play around with simplifying the steps, I’m sure more things could be added to the pot all at once, I’m just not sure how that would go… Oh, and if you are nervous about being able to tell when the chicken is done, just leave it simmer a little longer or cook it separately.

Thai Chicken Curry (serves 4, cooking time approximately 30 minutes)

This is my combination of several easy curry recipes but the only one that has ever tasted anything like a good takeout curry… at least to me. As an added plus, it is made with ingredients that I tend to have on hand. It would also be good with avocado, eggplant, peppers, or other similar vegetables. It would also be good with tofu or beef or pork or shrimp or any other similar protein.

1 onion diced
2 small carrots diced
1 tbsp Turmeric
pinch cayenne pepper
4 tbsp of vegetable oil
3 tbsp of red curry paste (Bright)
1 can of coconut milk
2 chicken thighs
1 “baked” potato (cooked in microwave)
3 tbsp fish sauce
splash of lime juice
2 tbsp sugar
Basil
peanuts to sprinkle on top

1. Saute onions and carrots in 1 T of oil until golden.

2. Add turmeric and cayenne pepper and cook until fragrant.

3. Add curry paste and remaining oil, heat on low for 1 minute.

4. Add ⅓ cup of coconut cream (the thick stuff on top of can) and cook on medium heat for one minute, then add ⅓ cup more and heat on medium heat for 3 minutes

5. Add meat and potato along with fish sauce, cook until meat is cooked through (3-5 minutes)

6. Add remaining coconut milk and heat for 2 more minutes, sprinkle with sugar and add lime juice.

7. Add basil leaves, serve with rice and top with peanuts.

