lime cupcakes

Lately I have had a touch of the blues… nothing too severe, I’ve just been waking up sad, and wallowing though my days. Oh, and eating lots and lots of sugar. Last night I decided it had to end, Today is officially not allowed to be a bad day. And so far my resolution is working. I woke up and did yoga right away. I spent the morning cooking, and I got out of my apartment and went to a delightful baby shower. I’m trying my hardest to be excited about spring, and babies, and life… and to cut back on the sugar.

But first, I bring you cupcakes. Don’t worry these sweets are not hanging around my kitchen. They went to a party, and were demolished before the gluten-full cake was even cut (I actually had to hide a cupcake in the kitchen to make sure I got to eat it). There is, however, a bit of icing still hanging out in my kitchen aid, but I have high hopes my icing loving roomie will do a good job on that.

Lime Cupcakes (yields 12 cupcakes)

These cupcakes are a variation of the lemon yogurt cake which I posted about earlier this week. The only changes: I swapped out the lemon rind for lime rind, used the juice of 3-4 limes instead of the lemon juice in the glaze, and added lime buttercream frosting to the top. Oh, and I had fun with food coloring… The lime flavor in the cake itself was pretty subtle, I might try to heighten next time by adding a little lime juice to the batter. But these are great just the way they are.

For the cupcakes:

½ cup plain yogurt
1 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs
½ cup sorghum flour
½ cup tapioca starch
½ cup potato starch
¾ tsp. xanthan gum
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. grated lemon zest
½ cup canola oil

For the glaze: (I actually cut this in half, but I regret that choice, because using more of the glaze would have given the cake a bit more of a lime-y tang)

Juice from 3-4 limes
¼ cup powdered sugar

For the buttercream frosting:

4 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup shortening
2 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons lime juice (or to taste… really, taste it here and decide whether to add more)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large bowl, combine the yogurt, sugar, and eggs, stirring until well blended. In a small bowl, combine the flours, xanthan gum, baking powder, and zest, mixing to just combine. Add the oil and stir to incorporate, continue stirring until it comes together into a smooth batter (this will take a little while). Pour and scrape the batter into a lined cupcake tin.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the cupcakes feel springy to the touch and a toothpick or cake tester inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Do not overbake.

Cool cake on a rack for about 20 minutes; then turn it out of the pan to cool completely.

When the cake is thoroughly cooled, combine the lemon juice and powdered sugar in a small bowl and spoon it gently over the cake. The glaze will be thin and will soak in like a syrup.

To make the buttercream frosting: mix the powdered sugar, butter, and shortening at low speed until well blended. Add the milk and continue to beat. Add the lime juice, and beat in. Test the flavor of the icing. Add more lime juice as necessary. If the icing is too thick add either milk or lime juice drop by drop until the desire consistency is achieved. Add food coloring if desired.

Frost glazed cupcakes (my cake decorating skills need work, but it was still fun to try).
Serve.

cupcake trio

