blueberry muffins

Having fished out the last muffin from my freezer for a mid-morning snack, I knew it was time to make more. Sometimes a batch of muffins can last me a long time, as I try to eat fruit during the day. So not having muffins in my freezer shouldn’t be a big deal. But for a quick breakfast, or a long study session, nothing beats a muffin for convenience and satisfaction, so I decided to go ahead and replenish my stash. For the last four or five months, every time I’ve made muffins, I’ve followed the same recipe, one which I will share later this week. But after reading this article in the New York Times, I decided to challenge myself and try something new.

So I started trolling the internet for muffin ideas, not sure what I was looking for. I thought about making quinoa muffins, or trying something exotic, but in the end, I decided on a classic, the blueberry muffin. I used this recipe on Simply Recipes as my base. To adapt it, I added an egg, upped the leavening, and changed the flours.

The resulting muffins are delicious. They fall somewhere between a muffin and a scone – a little denser than other gluten-free muffin recipes that I have made, but not in a bad way. These have a pleasant richness while still retaining a fluffy texture, and the browned muffin tops give a satisfying crunch. Lemon zest comes through as a subtle accent that plays off the tang of the blueberries without overpowering them. These are definitely going to be repeated, I just wish I didn’t know how much butter was in them…


Blueberry Muffins

1 cup rice flour
3/4 cup sorghum flour
1 cup cornstarch
1/4 cup potato flour (not the same as potato starch)
3 teaspoons xanthan gum
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
10 tablespoons butter
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 1/2 cup yogurt
1 teaspoon grated lemon peel
1 1/2 cups blueberries
1 tablespoon flour

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Combine flours, cornstarch, xanthan gum, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Whisk together.

3 In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar together, beating until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated after each one. Beat in the grated lemon peel.

4 Beat in one half of the dry ingredients until just incorporated. Beat in one third of the yogurt. Beat in half of the remaining dry ingredients. Beat in a second third of the yogurt. Beat in the remaining dry ingredients and then the remaining yogurt. Again be careful to beat until just incorporated. Do not over beat. Fold in the berries. If you are using frozen berries, defrost them first, drain the excess liquid, and then coat them in a light dusting of flour.

5 Line a standard 12-muffin muffin pan with muffin cups, and lightly spray with Pam. Divide batter between muffin cups (mine were overflowing and I still had extra batter so I overflowed into ramekins). Bake until muffins are golden brown, about 25 to 30 minutes. Test with a toothpick to make sure the center of the muffins are done. Set on wire rack to cool for 5 minutes. Remove muffins from the tin and serve slightly warm.

blueberry muffin

