blondies

I don’t know what it is about blondies, but I never seem to make them sober. Somehow, when you get me three or four drinks into the evening though, the urge to bake becomes irresistible. So tonight, four shots in, out came the measuring cups and the chocolate chips. But hey, my guests didn’t seem to mind, and the blondies were delectable. I should probably tweak this recipe a little more. My blondies don’t have a lot of lift, another egg or a little more baking powder would help that. But these are a carmelized gooey delicious mess, and while they might not be the most photogenic, it doesn’t really matter. Also, I find that trying to improve a recipe while drinking is not a good plan. So, feel free to add baking powder or an egg, and let me know how yours turn out. But really, these are great just as they are.

Blondies (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

1 stick butter, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
pinch of salt
1/3 cup tapioca starch
1/3 cup rice flour
1/3 cup sorghum flour
1/2 to 1 cup chocolate chips (I used 3/4 cup tonight, which worked out well, I’m not sure I would add more)

1. Grease an 8×8 pan
2. Mix melted butter with brown sugar – beat until smooth. Beat in egg and then vanilla.
3. Add salt, stir in flour. Mix in chocolate chips (and any other additions)
4. Pour into prepared pan. Bake at 350°F 25-30 minutes, or until set in the middle. Err on the side of caution with baking times. Cool on rack before cutting them. If memory serves me right, these are actually better when cool, but good luck waiting that long (especially if you too enjoy inebriated baking).

