morning glory muffin

I promised this recipe last week, and I keep delaying posting it, because I have a horrible confession. I made these muffins the same day as the blueberry ones, and I still haven’t eaten a single one. I let them cool on the racks, slipped them into freezer bags and froze them. But every time I open my freezer, I hesitate for a mere second, before I reach for a blueberry muffin. I imagine that the morning glory muffins feel hurt, confused, and rejected. They are entitled to those feelings. I think, with time, I will find my way back these veggie-loaded, bran-like, standbys, but not today, and probably not tomorrow. That doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t try them though. As I mentioned in my blueberry muffin post, these muffins were all I made in the muffin department for months, and they are very lovable.

Morning Glory Muffins (adapted from Whole Foods)

3 eggs
1/2 cup evaporated cane sugar
1/4 cup natural brown sugar
2/3 cup canola oil (I often substitute at least 1/2 the oil for unsweetened applesauce)
1 teaspoon gluten-free vanilla extract
1 cup teff flour (or quinoa flour)
1/2 cup tapioca starch
1/2 cup potato starch
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons xanthan gum
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Mix-ins:
1 tart red apple, unpeeled, cored, and finely diced
1 cup grated carrot
1 cup grated zucchini
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup toasted chopped walnuts
1/4 cup toasted coconut flakes
1 teaspoon grated orange zest

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Combine the wet ingredients in a large bowl and whisk by hand to incorporate air into the mixture; about one minute. Combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, and add, along with mix-ins, to the wet ingredients, using a rubber spatula to mix it all together. Scoop into paper lined muffin tins. Bake for 25 minutes.

