ice cream sandwich picture

Deb from Smitten Kitchen did me in again. I now have in my freezer six generously sized homemade ice cream sandwiches…. and they are good…the cookies especially. I skimped on the ice cream, it isn’t homemade or even premium, and I certainly can taste the difference (but my wallet objected to spending the extra, and tonight the wallet won…) Still, these ice cream sandwiches were never really about the ice cream. No, they were about the brownie roll-out cookies, which I wanted the second I saw them. I managed to put it off for a week or so, but when five o’clock rolled around, and I knew that I had nothing to make for dinner that was worthy of posting on the blog, I couldn’t resist any longer. I did manage to show some restraint… I cut the recipe in half (which yielded 16 large round cookies… and yes, if you do the math, that means two of the resultant ice cream sandwiches are not in the freezer, but only one of those is in my stomach… thank God for roommates).

Brownie Roll-Out Cookies (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

I don’t know how close these taste to the real thing, but they made for great ice cream sandwiches, so I consider them a success. I am giving the half batch recipe, but feel free to double (if you do, I would just use 3 eggs, rather than 2 eggs and 2 egg whites). I made my cookies 1/4 inch thick, but I might make them thinner next time… the ice cream to cookie ratio wasn’t quite right.

1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup rice flour
1/2 cup cornstarch
2 tablespoons potato flour
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 egg, plus 1 egg white
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup cocoa (I used natural, but I think dutch-process would have worked even better)

Whisk dry flour, salt and baking powder in bowl and set aside. Mix butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla and cocoa in mixer. Gradually add flour mixture, and mix until smooth. Wrap in plastic and chill for at least one hour. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Roll out cookie dough on floured counter. Cut into desired shapes. Bake on a parchment-lined baking sheet for 8 to 11 minutes (the former for 1/8-inch thick cookies, the latter for 1/4-inch cookies) until the edges are firm and the centers are slightly soft and puffed.

Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

