CSA box

This morning I picked up my first box of fresh organic local produce from my CSA. Back in the winter, I signed up for a summer subscription and paid for weekly deliveries of fresh vegetables (and sometimes fruit). My farm is called the Gardens of Huckleberry Hills and is located in Alabama (but still within a couple of hours drive of Atlanta). Ever since I wrote my check, I’ve been waiting with eager anticipation for the harvest season to begin. This first box is a little light (by the farmer’s admission), as the season progresses there will be more and more goodies in my box. But light as it is, this box still looks great. This week I got: squash, greenbeans, assorted greens, spring onions, oregano, mint and parsley. I can’t wait to start eating.

But first, I want to share a recipe that has been a favorite since college. In high school, I liked to cook, but as my mom would say, I liked to cook gourmet. I didn’t really have to worry about putting dinner on the table or staying within a budget. It wasn’t until college, that I really started cooking on a regular basis, and my favorite go-to cookbooks turned out to be the Weight Watchers’ Cook it Quick and Take Out Tonight. The Take Out Tonight book was my favorite of the two, by far. But this gem is actually from Cook it Quick. I now have many more sophisticated cookbooks, but when I want an easy, healthy, tasty meal, I often come back to Weight Watchers. The Tex-Mex Chicken, Corn, and Black Bean Salad is best the second day and shines when you use good quality salsa, fresh corn, and well-seasoned chicken. I pan-fried my chicken with a little cajun rub this time, and really liked the result.

Tex-Mex Chicken, Corn, and Black Bean Salad

Tex-Mex Chicken, Corn, and Black Bean Salad (serves 4)

1/2 pound cooked chicken breast cut into thin strips
1 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (10-oz) box frozen corn kernels, thawed
1 tomato, coarsely chopped
1 red onion, thinly sliced
1 (11-oz) jar salsa
1/3 cup red-wine vinegar
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (or more, to taste)
8 large lettuce leaves
12 baked tortilla chips, crumbled (I sometimes leave these out, and also use regular tortilla chips)

1. Combine all ingredient up through the cilantro. Let stand at least 15 minutes.
2. Divide lettuce among 4 plates. Divide the chicken mixture among the plates, sprinkle with tortilla chips.

Per serving this has 321 calories, and 6 points (if you care about that sort of thing).

