Today I was trying to have a perfect day. I slept in, I spent a little time this morning relaxing on my deck and watching my garden grow. Then I read for a couple of hours, biked to the coffee shop, and read for a couple more hours, before allowing myself to venture out on a shopping mission. I explored a new (to me) bike route from Decatur to Little Five Points, bought my baby sister a birthday present, and biked home. Soaring along alone on my bike, I felt perfectly happy, and I was convinced the day was only going to get better.

After all, I was planning on seeing Casablanca at the Fox theater tonight. I’ve never been to the Fox, and Casablanca on the big screen in an old school theater sounded amazing. Unfortunately, life intervened in the form of unexpected and unwarranted ugliness, and before I knew it I was canceling on the movie and wallowing on my couch. But that isn’t really where I want to be, or how I want to feel. So I’m choosing to let go and move on. While it is too late to catch the movie, it isn’t too late to stop wallowing.

But before I get off my couch, I’m going to leave you with a recipe, or two. I made this dinner last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The margarita shrimp taste perfectly summery and pair beautifully with the coconut rice. I found that I liked the rice best with both raw coconut and toasted coconut mixed in and spring onions sprinkled on top, but it is also good plain.

Margarita Shrimp

1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons tequila
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon cumin
1 clove garlic, smashed
salt and pepper to taste

1. Make the marinade by mixing all of the ingredients except the shrimp. Taste for salt and pepper.

2. Pour marinade into a zip lock bag and add shrimp.

3. Marinate for at least 1/2 hour and up to 4 hours, I did mine for about 1 hour and the taste was perfect.

4. Meanwhile, soak bamboo skewers in cold water for an hour (or use metal skewers).

5. Thread shrimp on skewers. Grill on medium heat, approximately 4 minutes per side, until shrimp is pink.

Coconut rice

1 cup rice
1 cup water
1 cup coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup toasted sweetened coconut
2 tablespoons sweetened coconut

1. Mix together water, coconut milk, and salt in a medium saucepan. Add rice and bring to a boil.

2. Reduce heat to a simmer and cover until liquid is almost absorbed.

3. Turn off heat and let sit for five minutes, with lid on.

4. Stir in sweetened coconut and serve. Top each serving with a sprinkle of toasted coconut.

