I know my posting has been a little erratic of late, but I have lots of posts on the back burner, so bear with me, they’ll get here soon.

Tonight I have an easy recipe to share with you. I’m always looking for weeknight dinner recipes that I can pull together largely from the contents of my pantry. I’m not really the queen of meal planning, largely because I so often give into cravings. But I don’t like grocery shopping every day either. This meal was delicious, and fairly easy. The original recipe called for beef and some vegetables that I didn’t have on hand, but a few substitutions left me with a dinner I would happily repeat.

Malaysian Stir-Fried Noodles with Chicken (adapted from Williams-Sonoma Asian)

3/4 lb fresh or dried rice stick noodles
1/2 lb chicken
1 teaspoon cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
3 tablespoons chicken broth
1 tablespoon fish sauce
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
1/2 teaspoon Sriracha chile sauce
3 tablespoons canola oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon peeled and minced fresh ginger
1 yellow onion, thinly sliced
1 cup broccoli florets
1/2 cup mung bean sprouts (I didn’t use these and it was still tasty)

1. If using dried noodles, soak them in warm water to cover for 30 minutes and then drain.

2. Chop the chicken into bite size pieces. Combine with cornstarch, salt, sugar, baking soda, and one tablespoon of water. Cover and marinate for thirty minutes in the fridge.

3. In another bowl, stir together broth, fish sauce, soy sauce, vinegar, and chile sauce. Set aside.

4. In a wok or large pan over high heat, heat 2 tablespoons of the canola oil until very hot. Add the garlic and ginger and stir-fry until fragrant, 4-5 seconds. Add the onion and broccoli and stir-fry until just tender. Transfer the vegetables to a bowl.

5. Remove the chicken from the marinade and pat dry. Discard the marinade. Add the to the pan and stir-fry until almost cooked (about 5 minutes). Transfer the chicken to a colander and drain.

6. Return the pan to high heat and add the fish sauce mixture. Bring to a boil and add the noodles and vegetables. Cover and simmer until most of the sauce has been absorbed by the noodles, 2-4 minutes. Uncover, return the chicken to the pan, add the bean sprouts. Stir fry until chicken is cooked through (about 3 additional minutes).

Serves 4-6.

